Montrose FC New Home Shirt

New Home Kit For Season 2021/22

Pre-order Now

Season Tickets Out Now


Read More

Buy Now

Telephone Sales

CLUB 500


Read More & Join Today

Next Match

Montrose v Arbroath

Match Details

Live Streaming

Season 2020/21 in Pictures

View The Photos From Montrose's 2020/21 Campaign


Peterhead 1 Montrose 1

One change to the starting eleven as Craig Johnston replaced Chris Mochrie for a tricky midweek game against an in form Peterhead side on a cold night but not a windy one as is often the case at Balmoor. Referee was Graham Grainger.

Early in the game it was clear that the big centre backs McKenzie and Brown would mop up all the long balls which came their way and that resulted in Montrose not making full use of what possession they had. On the flip side Peterhead played some neat football and looked more of a threat going forward.

Play halted for several minutes inside the first ten as Fraser took a knock and had to be stretchered off. No foul was given but the resultant substitution proved good for Peterhead as big Isaac Layne the ex Dumbarton man was soon to make his mark. Before that however McLean had the ball in the net for Montrose but was adjudged offside.

ISAAC LAYNE cut inside Waddell but was brought down and Layne himself made no mistake with the penalty kick to make it 1-0 on 21 minutes.

Montrose were finding it hard to get into their stride and Steeves saw yellow for a foul on the nippy Cameron. Then a Webster shot flew over the top as you sensed things might change and although another shot, this time from Steeves whistled wide the game drifted otherwise uneventfully to half-time with Peterhead deservedly 1-0 to the good.

Montrose had to up their game to get anything out of it but again it was Peterhead who looked sharper on the ball at first in the second half. Two quick corners followed for Montrose and one was scrambled away from a melee inside the six-yard box. With the game drifting on to the hour mark Montrose brought on Callaghan for Cochrane and Peterhead surprisingly took Layne off and replaced him with Lyle up front.

The changes signalled a bit more possession and purpose by Montrose as both Webster and Callaghan tried their luck without success, then Dillon almost got on the end of a free kick but slid his effort into the side netting. It was now more like it for Montrose as Peterhead looked to sit on their lead. Peterhead were still a threat on the break but Montrose were now more of a threat as well.

Then came the equaliser as McLean was clearly fouled in the box and GRAHAM WEBSTER made no mistake with the resultant penalty to make it 1-1 on 66 minutes. Jason Brown saw yellow for the offence.

The Blue Toon slowed things down with another substitution on 72 minutes with big defender McKenzie off and replaced by Kesson. Cammy F was then yellow carded for a foul and soon after was substituted for Paul Watson. Then Craig Johnston was also yellow carded when it appeared another penalty was to be given, but no, it was a yellow card for simulation as he crashed to the ground under pressure.

To their credit both sides did go for the winner but equally both sides were guilty of over-hitting crosses and the nearest to a winner was as a Webster header was hacked agonisingly off the line on 88 minutes.

The final piece of action after less than two minutes of stoppage time was a yellow card for Derryn Kesson for another foul on McLean. Not a classic game by any means and both sides can clearly play better but a share of the points was about right on the night, which keeps the present unbeaten run going.

Report by Steve Doyle

Team Lineups & Stats

SPFL League 1

Tuesday 22nd December 2020



1  Josh Rae
1  Allan Fleming
2  Kieran Freeman
2  Cammy Ballantyne
32  Kyle Bailey
3  Andrew Steeves
4  Scott Brown
12  Harry Cochrane (s48)
5  Gary McKenzie (s74)
5  Kerr Waddell
6  Simon Ferry
14  Seán Dillon (c)
14  Gary Fraser (s9)
7  Graham Webster
8  Jason Brown
16  Craig Johnston
17  Lyall Cameron
10  Russell McLean
10  Steven Boyd
11  Lewis Milne
11  Alan Cook
22  Cammy F Ballantyne (s84)
18  Bekar
18  Iain Campbell
99  Derek Lyle (s60)
4  Matty Allan
9  Isaac Layne (s9) (s60)
17  Aiden Quinn
16  Derryn Kesson (s74)
19  Liam Callaghan (s58)
27  Lenny Wilson
8  Paul Watson (s84)
    9  Lewis Hawke
    15  Ross Campbell
    21  Aaron Lennox

Graham Grainger

Assistant Referees:
Andy Milne, Harry Bruce

Peterhead - Isaac Layne (21pen)
Montrose - Graham Webster (68pen)

Yellow Cards:
Peterhead - Jason Brown (67), Derryn Kesson (90+2)
Montrose - Andrew Steeves (29), Cammy F Ballantyne (77) Craig Johnston (86)

Red Cards:



Contact Us

Links Park Stadium

Wellington Street
Angus DD10 8QD

Tel: 01674 673200

Fax: 01674 677311
Operations Manager: 01674 673200