Montrose FC New Home Shirt

New Home Kit For Season 2021/22

Pre-order Now

Season Tickets Out Now


Read More

Buy Now

Telephone Sales

CLUB 500


Read More & Join Today

Next Match

Montrose v Arbroath

Match Details

Live Streaming

Season 2020/21 in Pictures

View The Photos From Montrose's 2020/21 Campaign


Montrose 3 Peterhead 2

Referee Matthew MacDermid got the game going in sunny conditions but both sides were wary of each other and it was five minutes before a good chance came along. It fell to Paul Watson who got on the end of a corner but keeper Rae for Peterhead scrambled it away at the foot of the post. A minute later youngsters Mochrie and Cammy F combined to create another chance but the ball fell slightly behind Cammy and was hacked away.

Then disaster as Peterhead opened the scoring when Yano Campbell scuffed a clearance straight to an opposition player whose shot was parried away by Lennox but only as far as BEN ARMOUR who poked it home from a yard out to make it 1-0 on 12 minutes.

This setback meant Montrose had to up the pace and ensure they got the next goal. Peterhead played some neat football whilst Montrose struggled to get their game together despite enough possession. Quinn headed a corner a tad too high then McLean bagged the first yellow card of the game for a mistimed challenge.

As Montrose searched for the equaliser McLean headed on to Milne whose shot hit keeper Rae at point blank range – it was a stroke of luck for Peterhead but that elusive equaliser came anyway on 39 minutes as Yano Campbell took a quick free kick, hitting it wide right to Mochrie whose hard low cross was met by RUSSELL McLEAN at the near post and the big striker scored against his old club to make it 1-1 and that’s how it stayed at half-time.

It got better for Montrose immediately after the start of the second half as they scored again on 46 minutes. Again it was Mochrie who ran onto a Cammy F through ball and crossed from the right for RUSSELL McLEAN to sweep it in again to make it 2-1. Unusually for Montrose they made a substitution as early as 49 minutes when double goalscorer McLean (who was yellow carded earlier) was replaced by Rennie.

Peterhead now had to up their pace and got another stroke of luck as Yano Campbell scuffed a clearance again right at the feet of BEN ARMOUR who advanced to hit cleanly past Lennox to make it 2-2 on 51 minutes.

McCarthy for Peterhead was next to look at a yellow card for felling Mochrie who beat him neatly before a very late tackle. On 60 minutes Craig Johnston replaced Lewis Milne as more pace was added up top. Rennie set up Webster nicely but unusually the reliable shot from him whizzed wide – it was a good chance.

Then a significant turning point as Johnston was felled in the box and a clear penalty was awarded. Up stepped  GRAHAM WEBSTER who tucked it away nicely to make it 3-2 to the Mo on 71 minutes.

Cue another Peterhead fight back as they made another change with Kesson on to replace Conroy. Montrose responded with Ross Campbell and Liam Callaghan on for Paul Watson and Harry Cochrane at 79 minutes.

The final 10 minutes seemed to drag on as Peterhead played neat football yet Montrose could well have scored again when Ross Campbell did well to win the ball near the corner flag and sweep it across goal but there were no takers. Montrose defended well and a frustrated Peterhead had Jason Brown red carded for a second caution after a foul on 90 minutes. In stoppage time Andrew Steeves also saw yellow as he encountered the displeasure of referee MacDermid but the Mo saw it out for a hard worked 3-2 win.

Great to see Russell McLean score twice but the Man of the Match goes to young Aidan Quinn who recently has been a rock in defence and was just that again against Peterhead in this game.

Report by Steve Doyle

Team Lineups & Stats

SPFL League 1

Saturday 7th November 2020


21  Aaron Lennox
1  Joshua Rae
18  Iain Campbelll
2  Kieran Freeman
3  Andrew Steeves
3  Ryan Conroy (s78)
20  Chris Mochrie
4  Jason Brown
17  Aidan Quinn
32  Kyle Bailey
12  Harry Cochrane (s79)
12  Andrew McCarthy (s65)
7  Graham Webster
17  Lyall Cameron
8  Paul Watson (c) (s79)
8  Scott Brown (c)
10  Russell McLean (s49)  
15  Ben Armour (s65)
11  Lewis Milne (s60)
14  Gary Fraser
22  Cammy F Ballantyne
11  Alan Cook
16  Craig Johnston (s60)
21  Lenny Wilson
23  Martin Rennie (s49)
99  Derek Lyle (s65)
15  Ross Campbell (s79)
6  Simon Ferry
9  Lewis Hawke
10  Steven Boyd
19  Liam Callaghan (s79)
16  Derryn Kesson (s78)
5  Kerr Waddell
18  Trialist 1 (s65)
2  Rhys Clark 19  Trialist 2
6  Jack McCormick    
1  Allan Fleming    

Matthew MacDermid

Assistant Referees:
Gordon Crawford, Steven Wilson

Montrose - Russell McLean (39, 46), Graham Webster (71pen)
Peterhead - Ben Armour (12, 51)

Yellow Cards:
Montrose - Russell McLean (27), Andrew Steeves (90+2)
Peterhead - Lyall Cameron (35), Jason Brown (39), Andrew McCarthy (58)

Red Cards:
Peterhead - Jason Brown (90)



Contact Us

Links Park Stadium

Wellington Street
Angus DD10 8QD

Tel: 01674 673200

Fax: 01674 677311
Operations Manager: 01674 673200